European Capital of Culture 2027 in Latvia will be announced on 10 May8th May, 2022Culture

    On Tuesday, 10May, an international jury of independent experts will conclude the evaluation of the finalists of the European Capital of Culture 2027 competition and announce the winner of the European Capital of Culture 2027 title in Latvia at a media event.

    The media event will take place at 16.00 at the Latvian National Library. The announcement of the winner will also be available on the Ministry of Culture’s website and on Facebook.

    Three Latvian cities – Daugavpils, Liepāja and Valmiera – are running in the final round of the competition. All three cities were visited by a jury delegation – Beatrice Garcia from Spain, Hrvoje Laurenta from Croatia and the two Latvian national experts – Diāna Čivle and Ģirts Majors, as well as representatives of the European Commission (EC) and the Ministry of Culture as observers – during the week from 2 May to 6 May.

    On 9 and 10 May, the full jury will hear and interview delegations from all three cities. The applications for the final round are assessed against the following sets of criteria: contribution to long-term strategy, European dimension, cultural and artistic content, delivery capacity, public engagement and governance.

    The jury is a panel of ten experts selected by the European Parliament (EP), the Council of Europe, the EC and the European Committee of the Regions (CoR), as well as two national experts nominated by the National Council for Culture and the Ministry of Culture.

    Nine Latvian cities – Cēsis, Daugavpils, Jelgava, Jēkabpils, Jūrmala, Kuldīga, Liepāja, Ogre, Valmiera and Jelgava – submitted their applications for the title of European Capital of Culture 2027 in the first round of the competition. After three days of online presentations in early July 2021, an international and independent panel of experts nominated Daugavpils, Jūrmala, Liepaja and Valmiera for further participation in the competition. In autumn 2021, however, Jūrmala announced its withdrawal from the competition.

    This year, one of the three Latvian cities nominated for the final will earn the status of European Capital of Culture for Latvia for the second time. In 2008, Riga, Cēsis, Jūrmala and Liepāja submitted applications for the European Capital of Culture 2014 selection. Riga, Liepāja and Cēsis were selected for the second round. The 2014 European Capital of Culture was awarded to two cities – Riga, the capital of Latvia, and Umeå, Sweden.

    The European Capital of Culture title has been awarded annually since 1985 only to one city in each of the two Member States of the European Union, according to a specific calendar. This calendar envisages that in 2027 the title of European Capital of Culture will be awarded to two Member States, Latvia and Portugal.

    Each of these two countries will select one city to be awarded the title of European Capital of Culture on the basis of the recommendations set out in the selection report of an international and independent jury, and will notify the award to the EP, the EU Council, the EC and the CoR at the latest four years before the year of the European Capital of Culture title.

    The two newly selected European Capitals of Culture will also be eligible for the €1.5million Melina Mercouri Prize.